Really Useful Websites (March 2009)

This month’s websites are a hodgepodge (as if other months’ were not).  I simply found sites that I thought had good or helpful information on a variety of topics.  There is no real method or theme for this collection.

First of all, I wanted more information this month on economic topics, such as recessions and depressions.  On those subjects, I recommend the following articles:

Then I decided I wanted more information on what sort of help is out there for people who are struggling for one reason or another.  (Gee, I wish I had had this thought some time back – I found a lot of helpful information.  I think I was too depressed to go looking for it at the time.)

  • www.virginia.gov – Ok, this is my state, so that’s where I started.  I had no idea some of these services existed.  There are sections on the site for citizens, students, and employees.  Under citizens, there is a section for community services.  My guess is that many if not all states have something along these lines.  These include:
    • 2-1-1 VIRGINIA:  provides easy access to information and referrals on child care, energy assistance, financial assistance and more.
    • Child care database:  you can search for licensed day care in your area.
    • Virginia Communities – a database of local resources.
  • For Minnasoteans (?), Minnasotahelp.info seems to have a wealth of information and resources listed or linked.

While looking the above mentioned sites up, I found sites that were odd, really amusing, or just caught my eye.  I’ve included a sampling for kicks and giggles…

  • Callinsick – well, the name really says it all.  From the site:  “Sick notes – provided.  Fake prescriptions – provided.  Tutorials for faking sick – provided!”  🙂
  • Sickday Excuse Generator – well, once I saw the first one, I decided to see what else was out there!  Good for a laugh!
  • Economic Assistance For Struggling Families Varies Widely
  • I Work With Fools – well, I don’t personally work with fools at the moment, but I certainly HAVE.  It looks like this site is no longer being updated, but it is entertaining nonetheless.
Leave a comment

Filed under Blogroll, Lists, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

