Really Useful Websites (February 2009)

  • Presidential trivia in time for Presidents’ Day

o Kaboose.com – Presidents’ Day 2009 – I highly recommend taking a look at this site in general, but I found their information on Presidents’ Day, with activities for children, particularly appealing.  There are tabs for crafts, activities, printables, and “All about the Presidents”.

o Snopes – Presidents Day – now here is an interesting article on Presidents’ Day and all of the confusion surrounding the birthdays of Washington and Lincoln.

o Presidents USA – this is quite a collection of links to sites related to the presidents of the United States.  Some are better than others, but I think it is worth taking a little while to look around.

  • Romantic Gift Ideas

o Lovingyou – Need I say more than the name of the site?  There are “every day romance” ideas and gift ideas as well.  There are sections for Date Night, Romantic Travel, and Recipes for Two, and much more.  Well worth some time looking around.

o Romantic Gift Ideas – This site has sections for Date Night, Bedroom, Breakfast Recipes, Dinner Ideas, and Games, among others.  I found interesting ideas on making a bedroom a more romantic place, as well as some good romantic ideas.  I also like the fact that viewers can share stories – that is frequently a great source of inspiration!

  • Humor Sites (or humorous sites!)

o Roadside America – Ok, what’s not to like about this site?  If you are looking for oddities to go see, THIS is the site for you!  If you are looking for an offbeat vacation destination, what better place to start?  There are tips, visitor tips, maps, and a section on hotels as well!  Go browse!  There are even themes, including – and I shudder at the thought – two-story outhouses!

o Southern Humorists – I admit it…I’m a Southerner, so I might be JUST a WEE bit biased on this one, but I enjoyed browsing around this site.  It certainly provides enough material to fill the brief breaks I’m able to take on the computer for quite a while!

  • Black History Sites:  the sites or pages below contained a variety of information that I found useful and interesting.  I’m not claiming that I’m posting anything anyone couldn’t find easily – but I’m posting sites that I felt were well-done.  If anyone reading this has other suggestions, I welcome additions to the list via comments!

o About.com – African-American History

o Biography.com – 101 Facts about African American History

o History.com – Black History Facts

o Black Inventor Online Museum – a wealth of information!

  • Miscellaneous

o Mental Floss – stimulating! I look forward to a subscription in the near future!  (Well, I’m working on it – gotta find the time to read!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogroll, Lists, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

