About that cleaning…

I’ve discovered a new approach to cleaning my house. I know I’m not the first, but this is a new idea to me and it is working so well for me that I thought I’d pass it on.

You see, I have this tendency to feel that the whole house has to be cleaned at the same time. If I start, I feel I have to finish it all. Now, really, who has time for that, particularly if you have small children? I don’t really want to spend the little time I have at the end of the day doing housework, although I suppose I could.

The silly thing about this is that it is so simple. I cannot believe that I never thought of it but, here it is: spend 10 minutes a day cleaning and/or organizing. That’s it. Do 10 minutes a day, and eventually everything will get done.

The benefits of this include:

  1. It allows you to break down bigger tasks into smaller ones.
  2. It gives you a chance to fit things in where you can, in small amounts of time.
  3. It gives you a feeling of accomplishment to know that even when you are short on time you are getting things accomplished.

I’ve worked it out in various ways. I clean the foyer and downstairs bathroom floors one day, organize my desk another. I file one day, then clean the bathroom the next. It works out very nicely and eventually everything does indeed get done. In addition, I’ve started organizing things that needed to be done but I hadn’t been able to get to before.

Leave a comment

Filed under Self-Improvement

Leave a Reply

